A Washingtonian’s Washington Experience

I grew in N.W. Washington, DC, – 12 blocks from the White House.  I remember how I used to walk up to the corner to catch fire flies, turn my head to the right and see the White House, from a distance of course, but never realizing just how incredible that was. 

All of my neighborhood friends basically felt the same way I did.  The White House?  Who cares?  So what?  It’s no big deal.  Or so we thought.

Never did we ever imagine that we lived up the street from the most “powerful” house in the world!  Where the most powerful leader slept most nights.  Where decisions were made day in and day about the lives of millions and millions of people.  To me it was just a white house where a lot of people in uniforms and fancy cars went to.  Where they had gates that kept you out because, well, because you weren’t rich.  Simple as that.

As the years passed and my family moved, I remember thinking why didn’t someone sit me down and tell me just how close I was to that kind of power?  Maybe a grown up could have walked me to that white house just to be close to it to admire its splendor.  Why didn’t someone tell me that it was not just the president of the United States who lived there, but THE PRESIDENT OF THESE UNITED STATES lived there!  Maybe it would have meant something.  Maybe it wouldn’t have.  After all, even the grownups in my neighborhood cared less about living that close to the White House. 

One thing for sure and two things for certain, as a kid, I never, not once in all those years growing up, ever saw the President come outside to play.  Never.  He would not have been a fun neighbor to have, I thought.  I wonder if he would be today? 

I’m interested in finding out – and hope to get to the White House soon! Did you know you can help me get there? You can. You should. It’s nice to go home.

About carmen

Carmen is currently the Digital Editor at Ms. magazine, Social Media Coordinator for the She Wins, We Win Campaign, Community Director and Feminism Editor at Autostraddle, and a Contributor at Everyday Feminism. Her successful work for over eight years in digital feminism—as a writer, social media maven, and activist leader—has earned her the titles of “digital native,” “intimidating to some,” and “vapid and uninteresting.”

Leave a comment