Fallen Soldier, Fallen Hero, Falling Heart, Failing Fallen Forgotten

I’m not sure if I know anyone who was more proud to have been a soldier in the U.S. Army than John I. Morrison, Sr.  My father would look at the picture of himself in his uniform hanging in the hallway of our house, which was the only picture he ever hung up of himself, and smile.  He was proud to have served his country and more than anything, he talked about the 21 gun salute he “earned” as a result of that.

“When I die what an honor it will be when those soldiers fire 21 shots for me.  What an honor!”  No Mr. Morrison (Daddy), the honor was ours!  Thank you for your service.

That was something he lived to die for, a BIG deal for him.  He was a proud U.S. Army soldier and if you knew John Morrison, you knew he loved this great country.

On April 13, 1977, he died.  I remember the soldiers folded the U.S. flag and handed it to my mother at his funeral.  My heart almost beat itself out of my chest, because I knew at that moment, Daddy’s soul was bursting with excitement, watching us receive a flag from the United States Army by some of the finest men in uniforms.  Some of my tears were for that fact, knowing that his moment was almost here, almost.  But right after that, the soldiers left.  Wait!  Wait a minute sirs!  What happened to the 21 gun salute?  What’s going on here?  My father’s not getting his 21 gun salute?

Apparently, the soldiers had to leave because a “Captain” was being buried around the same time and well, he was a captain and Daddy was JUST A PRIVATE!  Just a private?  Are you kidding me?  Seriously?  They left and Daddy did not get his 21 gun salute.

Daddy lived for that 21 gun salute.  They can’t just leave!  They can’t just NOT give him what he waited all of his adult life for!  That’s wrong, unfair and awful!  He was a soldier who loved his country and fought in 2 wars.  You mean to tell me the country can’t afford a 21 gun salute for him AS WELL AS THE CAPTAIN?  Oh my God.  Tell me this isn’t so.

My family and I left the cemetary, went home and tried to get on with our lives.  But, wait.  Somebody had to do something.  I had to do something.  How would I live my life knowing that my father, a man I respected to the utmost, lost, what was rightfully due him?  In our minds, it may be just a simple 21 gun salute, but for him, it was like the greatest thing he did.  Yeah, that simple 21 gun salute.  I figured it out – I’LL WRITE THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES!

After sending an explanation letter to, I believe at the time, was President Carter, the letter was passed down, and then down and then down and finally I got a response from some office in the State Department or armed services (it’s been so long I almost don’t remember) which paraphrased, read something like “We’re sorry, but you should write your Congressman.”  Okay.  I did.  The response I got from my “Congressman” was “a Captain takes precedence over a private.”  Really?

Since that time, I thought that I would write every sitting president up to President Bush (George W) because after battling with my “Congressman” I saw no win.  But ce la vie!  There’s hope.  A member of the armed services read the book “Almost There, Almost…The Many Faces of Sylvia Traymore Morrison” recently and was fascinated by the story associated with Daddy not getting his 21 gun salute and is at this very moment, looking into having something done.  Who knows?  There may be hundreds of thousands of soldiers who loved serving their country and NEVER GOT THAT 21 GUN SALUTE either.  Please note that somebody is at least looking into doing something about it.

For those men and women of the armed services, I pray God answers.  I just pray he does because HE himself, knows you deserve it.  We know you deserve it, the Armed Services know that you deserve it and so does the President of the United States.  Thank you for your time.  Peace.

2 thoughts on “Fallen Soldier, Fallen Hero, Falling Heart, Failing Fallen Forgotten

Leave a comment